Home - Strasbourg
Facebook    Twitter    Instagram
 Source YouTube, Malta Channel​​

As the Permanent Representative of Malta to the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, I would like to extend to you a warm welcome to this website.

The Council of Europe was founded on 5 May 1949. Malta became a member on 29 April 1965, following its independence the previous year. Many states joined in the 1990s after the democratic transition in central and Eastern Europe. The Council of Europe today has 47 member states.

The Council of Europe is an international organization promoting co-operation among member states in various areas but foremost those concerning human rights, democratic development, the rule of law and cultural co-operation.  Through its Permanent Representation, Malta takes part in and monitors the work of the Committee of Ministers’ Deputies, its various rapporteur groups and steering committees.  Each year, a number of delegates from Malta also participate in the working schedule of the Council of Europe.

Malta has three representatives and three substitute representatives at the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe which adopts resolutions and recommendations on issues related to democracy, human rights and the rule of law. The European Court of Human Rights, which is composed of judges from each member state, gives judgments in application of the European Convention of Human Rights.